After opening a Live device in Max for editing, there are two copies of the device -- the one you are editing and the one inserted into a track in Live. Preview Mode permits you to listen to the device you are editing while Live runs in the background. The copy of the device inserted in the Live track is disabled.
Audio, MIDI, timing, and messages (including Live API
commands) are sent between Max and Live in order to make this happen.
Preview Mode is always enabled when you begin to edit a device in Max.
The preview mode icon in the patcher window toolbar shows the preview state for each device. When the icon is green, preview mode is enabled.
Another clue that preview mode is active is that the edited device appears grayed out in Live.
- To toggle preview mode, click the preview icon. When preview mode is disabled, the icon in the toolbar is gray.
In addition, the device's user interface in Live regains its normal appearance.
- You can also turn preview mode off by clicking the edit button in the Live device's title bar. However, this also has the effect of closing the device in the editor.